Could not activate

Please include the flowing when reporting a bug:

• windows 10 home 64 bit (10.0, build 18363)
  • FontBase 2.16.6
  • when I activate a google font (ex: cairo) it say could not activate 2 fonts (regular and semibold).

Is this happening to every Google font or only these specific fonts?

@dominik I’m getting similar behavior on Ubuntu 20.04.2. My scenario is a little bit different though. I have a collection of fonts that are stored in Dropbox and synced across multiple devices (macOS Big Sur and Windows 10 machines).

When I initially installed FontBase on Ubuntu, I was able to activate my fonts with no problem. However, as soon as I shut down the box and restarted it, the fonts became deactivated. Ever since when I try to activate any of my personal fonts, I get the Could not activate font notification.

For reference, Mac and Windows are still operating normally. I’m still new to the Linux world, so if there’s a way to be able to provide some logs, I’d be happy to do so. I would just need a little guidance. :slight_smile:

Please let me know, thanks!

Do you have all the necessary rights to write into system directories on Linux? The folder ~/.fonts/FontBase should be existing and writable.

@dominik after looking at my rights, for the ~/.fonts/FontBase folder, they weren’t set to being writable. so I changed the permissions, deleted the link files for the fonts that were underneath it, and I was finally able to activate my fonts. :slight_smile: however, after I reactivated the fonts, I noticed that permissions for ~/.fonts/FontBase went back to a non-writable state. it seems that FontBase changed it on its own? I haven’t restarted my machine so I’ll see if the activations hold after that. I’ll update you with a status once I know.

1 Like